Why Isn’t Obesity Research Better Known?

Because this is a super good question that requires an answer. The research is out there, contesting the “exercise to lose weight” and “lose weight and stay thin” mentality, but few people have heard of it. Education is always the key to ending stigma, hatred and shame.

Living ~400lbs

CBC has an article on the part of obesity research that doesn’t always get talked about.

Tim Caulfield says his fellow obesity academics tend to tiptoe around the truth. “You go to these meetings and you talk to researchers, you get a sense there is almost a political correctness around it, that we don’t want this message to get out there,” he said.

“You’ll be in a room with very knowledgeable individuals, and everyone in the room will know what the data says and still the message doesn’t seem to get out.”

In part, that’s because it’s such a harsh message. “You have to be careful about the stigmatizing nature of that kind of image,” Caulfield says. “That’s one of the reasons why this myth of weight loss lives on.”

Stigmatizing.  How is it stigmatizing to know that being fat isn’t something that can be easily changed by anyone?  One…

View original post 581 more words

About Tiana the Fat Health Coach

I am proud, fat, and healthy. Yes, they can all go together like that. Read more at http://www.tianadodson.com View all posts by Tiana the Fat Health Coach

6 responses to “Why Isn’t Obesity Research Better Known?

  • แทงบอลออนไลน์

    ӏ believe thаt is one of thе most siցnificant
    іnformation for me. Аnd i am glad studying your article.
    Βut should statement оn fеw normal tɦings, TҺe web site
    taste іs wonderful, thе articles іs in ƿoint of fact
    nice : D. Excellent job, cheers

  • ฟิลเลอร์

    First of all I ѡould like tߋ ѕay fantastic
    blog! Ӏ had a quick question іn whіch I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I wɑs intеrested tօ knoԝ hоw you center yoսrself and clear your thougҺts beforе writing.
    I haνе had a hard time clearing mу tҺoughts in getting mү ideas out theгe.
    I ɗo take pleasure іn writing ƅut it jսst seems
    like thе firѕt 10 to 15 minutes aгe wasted simply just trying tߋ figure οut
    ɦow to bеgin. Any suggestions οr tips? Appreciаte it!

    • Tiana

      Thanks! I’m glad you enjoy my writing! I don’t really have a ritual for beginning writing because I usually only write when the feeling strikes me. Because of that, I carry around a notebook for me and try to be sure to have a voice recording device nearby when my hands are not free. I work from home and am alone for a large part of the day. It’s in that space that I allow my mind to wander while I do housework or other things in my body. I tend not to play music while I’m home in order to give myself the quietness for open thinking. I guess you could say I meditate through movement. Have you yourself tried meditation? Hope that helps!

  • คอนแทคเลนส์รายวัน

    May I simply just say what a relief to find a person that genuinely knows what they’re
    talking about over the internet. You definitely know
    how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people need to check this
    out and understand this side of the story. It’s surprising
    you aren’t more popular because you definitely possess the gift.

    • Tiana

      Thanks for your kind words! This post is simply a repost from another blog, so she actually did all the heavy lifting. However, you are right that information like this is not very well known or understood. That’s why I’m sharing it again here! 🙂

Got a Thought to Share?

