Dare to Do

Some mornings I wake up thinking about fresh bread. Maybe these thoughts are channeled by the noise I hear through the window of the truck making deliveries to bakery on the corner of my block.

Some mornings I wake up thinking about the difficulties I may possibly face today because I will have to deal with some bureaucrat. Most of these dealings are difficult for everyone. But for me they can be special.

Because I live in Germany.

I don’t live in a big city in Germany. I don’t live in “American friendly” western Germany where everybody speaks English.

I live in former Eastern Germany. 

And the bureaucrats do not speak English here.

So things just tend to be a bit more difficult because not only am I navigating an unknown system (and hey, even navigating a known system is tricky), but I am also doing it auf Deutsch because they don’t speak English. Hard just met harder.

But this post is not to rant about the challenges the German language has brought into my life. This post is how these challenges have enriched my life.

Because living in Germany has taught me how to dare to do.

It was here where I learned how to go to a restaurant by myself, sit in a booth, order a meal and enjoy it alone. It was here that I learned that using a bicycle as transportation is not only possible but actually fun. It was here I learned that 3 miles is not too far to walk. It was here I learned to be truly independent.

Living in Germany has taught me how to learn to be okay with being uncomfortable. It has taught me how to jump with both feet out of my comfort zone. And all because this is necessary to get your basic needs met when you move to a place and don’t speak the language.

You do not have to move to another country to learn these things. You just have to make a commitment to dare to do something that has previously made you uncomfortable. It’s okay to be uncomfortable. You might just discover a new passion you never knew you had.


 Ready to discover a new passion or try something new? Sign up for a free Breakthrough Session with me by clicking here.

 

About Tiana the Fat Health Coach

I am proud, fat, and healthy. Yes, they can all go together like that. Read more at http://www.tianadodson.com View all posts by Tiana the Fat Health Coach

Got a Thought to Share?

